Beginnings

I have been toying with this idea of writing another blog for quite some time now. I have written a running blog for several years, but I feel like I need, or want, rather, this new venue to journal my experiences, feelings, and thoughts. However, my real hope is that one of you will be the beneficiary of all my ups and downs, my successes and failures.

I am officially an NPC Figure Competitor! I competed in my first figure competition on August 11, 2012. I received a 3rd place and brought home some bling! Not bad for a first time, but I know I could have done better! I made some newby mistakes, but as they say mistakes are portals of discovery and mistakes DO NOT define you. It took a few days for me to digest the event and it really was a fabulous learning experience for me. I will go into that more later.

As I began this journey to become a competitor, dare I say, a threat, heeheehee, I scoured the internet for any information I could find on how, when, and what to do during prep. There is so much information out there and none of it is really clear. So much of it contradicts what is even healthy, in my opinion. I read in several different places about eating no carbs for months, salt depletion, dehydration, and cooking your chicken in distilled water. SERIOUSLY?? I thought, if that is what it is going to take to get my body competition ready, I’m NOT doing it!  It is not worth ruining my metabolism and risking my health for 5 to 10 minutes on stage!  

I read countless competitor blogs. One which stood out to me was Bikini or Bust!  Donloree is real, she tells it how it is and frankly, she makes me laugh! I shot her an email and her number one piece of advice for me was “Get a coach!” And get a coach I did!  Joe Klemczewski, The Diet Doc. Now, if I can take a moment to toot their horn, THEY ARE AMAZING! Dr. Joe and Kori Propst have been invaluable to me as I have gone through this process. They are both fabulous to work with, so positive and so motivating. They truly know what they are doing and do it in a healthy and safe way. I have learned so much and I feel very fortunate to be able to rub shoulders with such great people. I know with Joe and Kori in my corner I was and I am well equipped for anything that I do!

Will I continue to compete?  YOU BETCHA!!

Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Stacey! I can’t wait to follow your blog! I’m glad you started it. What a fun way to chronicle your journey into competing…but in life too! I’m blessed to know you….perhaps we’ll meet in person soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

