Can’t Walks On Won’t Street

DIET-AND-EXERCISE

I always find it curious when someone asks me a question about diet or exercise and then cuts me off MID answer to inform me “they can’t” do something. Hmmm… Isn’t that funny… If you think you can’t do something then SURPRISE… you can’t… you are right!! But… at least you are right… πŸ™‚ We have always had a saying in our home… “Can’t Walks On Won’t Street.”

So I guess you need to look around and see all the people that ARE doing… that ARE succeeding… that ARE winning. Are they better than you? Were they born with the “Can Do” gene? If that guy/girl can do it…. then by hell, so can you! So there you go. I’ve given you permission to succeed!!

People ask me questions all the time.. always the same people… always the same questions, and yet they are never truly ready to hear the answer. They want the easy way out… they want the magic pill… Well don’t we all?? Β Life isn’t like that… there is no Magic Pill. Getting in shape, building muscle, or losing that last 5 pounds.. or 20, isn’t like that either!

The only way you are going to get in shape… lose those extra pounds… have more energy… and feel good… is to Eat correctly and work your ass off. Literally!!! So here is the “Magic Pill”… hold on to your seats… here it comes… Light weight and lots of reps will NOT get the job done. You MUST eat correctly and go heavy. As HEAVY as you are able to lift and still have good form. That maximum weight is different for everyone. Don’t compare yourself to others. Run your own race… Or in this case, lift your own weights!!! πŸ™‚ Believe that you can and you CAN! Β Remember… “Can’t walks on WON’T street!”

15 thoughts on “Can’t Walks On Won’t Street

  1. Wow…I do believe someone got under your skin. The best part about it, we all benefit from your advice.

    On a more serious not, that frustrates the hell out of me too. “I can’t” simple means “I’m being lazy and don’t want to”.

  2. Great post! Very true…going within and truly believing that what you want..you CAN have. You can be lean, loving, prosperous, and happy all at once. It all starts and will always reside with the belief. Thoughts repeated over and over become a belief. Then own it:)

  3. What a great post! how many people who haven’t seen you in awhile ask: “what diet are you on? You look great.” Ugghh! I hate the word DIET. My answer: “I eat right and work my ass off. ” plain and simple!!

  4. i get the same people asking me the same question at my gym. i suppose they witnessed all the post-pregnancy weight i lost. which actually included the post-post-pregnancy weight. i had some weight to lose – but during my first couple of years as a mom, i gained even more weight!

    anyway, so they watched be go from a size 17 to a size 9. and they want to know how i did it.

    i think you are right – they are waiting for some one to lead them to ‘easy street!’ (lol! ‘won’t street’ and ‘easy street’ – do these street cross paths or run parallel to one anotyer? :p) but my answers never satisfy them since the truth is that i never went on a diet or took a magic pill. it was just exercise and a healthier, balanced diet.

    • I think they run parallel.. Lol πŸ™‚
      Congratulations on your weightloss.. Clearly you are doing it right… People are noticing the changes in you! πŸ™‚

  5. Sometimes when I get asked a questions and get cut off in the middle of my answer with an “I can’t,” I want to say, “Why ask if you aren’t ready for the answer!?!” People do want a magic pill. That is why they buy magazines that say the same thing over and over again. But as you well know…THERE ISN’T ONE!

    But I also think people say “I can’t” because they fear failing especially where they know others have succeeded, which is sad. Better not to try at all than fail right?

  6. Great advice! I always hate when I hear “can’t” and don’t think I’m not quick to correct them on that! πŸ™‚

  7. so true — everyone wants to accomplish something, but most people usually find a reason they “can’t”. It’s the few people that actually make time and put forth effort to do the things they say they want to accomplish that have always been more interesting to me. Good post – thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

