My Work Out Regime

I am asked almost daily about my workouts, so I thought I would answer the most common questions here as well..

155435_255056261290301_1938075058_n

What do you do? I am pretty much old school when it comes to working out. I lift weights and do a little cardio. I do NOT do cross fit. I do NOT do Pilates. I do NOT do Zumba.

How many days per week do you work out? I workout 6 days a week.

How long are your workouts? ONE hour! That’s it!

What is your schedule? I do switch this up quite a bit. I will do the following for about 4 weeks, then I have a totally different routine I do for 6 weeks alternating between a strength and an intensity week with some functional cardio added in.. It works well for me!

Monday: Quads/Abs
Tuesday: Chest/Biceps/Abs
Wednesday: Cardio
Thursday: Hamstrings/Calves
Friday: Back/Triceps/Abs
Saturday: Shoulders/Abs
Sunday: REST

What is your favorite muscle group to work? Legs… Hands down! But, I also like biceps.. and triceps.. and chest.. and shoulders.. Hell, I like it all! 🙂

What is your favorite time of day to workout?  My favorite time to workout is early morning. I know if I don’t do it first thing, it simply won’t get done. The thing I love about doing my workouts early is that I am rested which makes for a great workout, and a great workout clears everything up mentally, physically, and I just have a better day!

 

5 thoughts on “My Work Out Regime

  1. i love strength training! my fave muscles would have to be chest and back. especially a workout that supersets these two muscle groups. the sheer joy of push, then pull, then push again.

    i like working out the shoulders, triceps and biceps too, but only because they are what i call the ‘glam muscles’ – they’re what makes us look good in sleeveless tops during warming months! :p

    i switch it up every few weeks as well… pairing different muscles groups and doing different types of exercises. once in awhile, i’ll pick a week or even a month to do something extremely different (like when i trired TRX Suspension training while we were on our cruise). whatever to avoid boredom.

  2. Amen to the morning lift! When I was a little younger and single my time slots were more open but being a husband and a father to 2, you have to carve out time to get yourself to the gym! Another huge benefit to the early lift? No waiting for anything! You rock Stacey.

  3. I am not a morning person, but that is when I work out. It was 2 days weight training and 1 day cardio. I just started kickboxing classes, so that is my Monday/Wed – Tues/Thur is weight training. And now i got a small home gym, I hope to get another day in there since I hate 3 days off in a row.

Leave a Reply

