It’s Official

why-am-i-still-single-single-blog

Yep! I am officially SINGLE! I actually changed my relationship status on Facebook the other day to divorced and then thought, “That sounds so broken! and I AM NOT BROKEN!” So, I changed it to Single instead. It just sounds better.

I keep getting the token tap on the shoulder, the pity looks, and people tiptoeing around me, not knowing what to say. Well, let me make it perfectly clear… I am doing just fine! I am HAPPY! Don’t get me wrong, there have been plenty of tears and numberless BATCHES of chocolate chip cookies single-handedly eaten by Yours Truly… but I am DONE feeling sorry for myself! So, I am making the most of an ugly situation and I am choosing to be happy! Simple as that! Honestly, I feel like I am FINALLY living my life! It is far from perfect, but it is MINE!

I found a quote from Andy Warhol several weeks ago that has really helped put things into perspective when I feel down…  Saying “So What!!” TOTALLY works! 🙂

Sometimes people let the same problem make them miserable for years when they could just say, “So what.” That’s one of my favorite things to say. “So what.” “My mother didn’t love me” So what. “I’m a success but I’m still alone.” So what. I don’t know how I made it through all the years before I learned how to do that trick. It took a long time for me to learn it, but once you do, you never forget.  ~ Andy Warhol

I fully believe if you aren’t happy being single, you will never be happy in a relationship. You need to get your own life and love it first.. THEN share it. I am excited to see what the future will bring!

How do you get through tough times?

11 thoughts on “It’s Official

  1. congrats on OWNING your life! sounds exciting. 🙂

    i do use exercise a lot to get me through tough times. sometimes, i treat myself to something small. a nice walk out to get some coffee, for example. or to a local manicure place to get my hands and fingers pampered. it’s simple but sometimes, simple is all we need.

    one thing i have learned is that no matter how bad things seem to be, there’s always something one can do to give themselves a little break. just a breather. for me, i’m learning to do this more and more.

    i mean, why not?

    it’s about being kind to ourselves – and therefore, loving ourselves.

  2. “I fully believe if you aren’t happy being single, you will never be happy in a relationship. You need to get your own life and love it first.”

    So true. How can you love someone else if you aren’t happy with yourself and with your own life?
    It often takes a lot of courage to make things right. Continue to be brave and to choose to be happy. You make the world a better place by making that choice and you inspire others. What is the definition of success? Living a life that makes you happy and allows you to help others. Doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a Reply

