D.I.E.T.

I don’t love the word DIET!  For one thing, the first three letters spell DIE… Enough said, right?! This is me five years ago, when I was always on a “diet.”

unnamed

I felt deprived and unsatisfied.. The word “diet” has negative connotations in and of itself… at least for me! I would always start on a Monday… Fresh start! I could stay on for a few days, but inevitably by Wednesday I would give into the cravings.. and what was the point of going back on, I had already messed up the week…Ha! So in all reality, it was two days on and five days off! Oy Vey!

Fast forward several years. I have figured some things out. Common sense stuff, really. I’ve learned about macro nutrients and the importance of having a good balance. When I decided to call my “Diet” a “Meal Plan.” everything changed for me. Sure I was strict on what I ate, but having a “plan” was the key. If I wanted to eat something not so healthy, I could plan it into my macros. It became all about the planning!

unnamed-3

I‘m not saying I don’t still struggle with cravings or emotional eating, I do. But I have learned how to avoid my triggers. AND if there is something, say like a Costco cupcake with lots of frosting delivered to my house by a neighbor, 🙂 I will put it in my freezer until Saturday, which is my free day. I know it is there if I decide I want to eat it…It’s a mental game! AND 9 times out of 10 I end up NOT eating it! But I can if I plan for it! I no longer diet! I eat for my goals and I stay on my plan.

It’s all in the mindset!

6 thoughts on “D.I.E.T.

  1. Well said, there is a big difference between starving yourself and choosing to eat healthy to gain the nourishment your body needs to be active and healthy. Beauty comes as much from the inside as the outside. You are truly blessed to be beautiful inside and out. You have worked hard to get where you are. Stay strong and healthy, continue to follow your passions. Everyone deserves to be happy, so make that choice and continue your success. Thanks for inspiring so many people!

Leave a Reply

