Simple Pleasures…

simple-pleasures

It has been a day of reflection. I am allowing myself to “feel.” That’s always been a hard thing for me, but I’m doing it because it is important…it helps me figure ME out. It’s been kind of a rough day, to say the least.

I washed my sheets this morning and hung them on the line outside to dry. The smell took me back to my childhood in southern California helping my grandma hang out her clothes. Funny how smells can do that! But it got me thinking of a simpler time and how as an adult we.. er I tend to get caught up in the tasks that need to be accomplished and I forget to recognize the simple pleasures in my life. This week I saw a herd of deer on the side of the road on my way to the gym one morning.  I saw a man at a bus stop practicing his golf swing while he waited for his ride. I saw a caterpillar inching its way on the sidewalk. All of these things made me smile. When we recognize the simple pleasures in life they can brighten our day, if we let them! I thought it would be fun (and therapeutic for me today) to list the things that are simple pleasures in my life… Here goes:

1. Berries in my oatmeal

2. Being lazy on a Sunday

3. Hugging my kids tight

4. Watching my kids play

5. The smell of rain

6. Watching the sunset

7. Watching the sunrise

8. Rainbows

9. The smell of fresh cut grass

10. Laughing

11. Staying up late taking to  a good friend

12. That feeling after a good workout

13. A gentle breeze

14. Blowing bubbles

15. Walking on the beach

16. Breakfast in bed

17. Holding hands

18. Laying on the grass and looking up at the clouds

19. The sound of birds singing in the trees

20. Bees pollinating flowers

21. Helping someone in need

22. Making someone smile

23. A sincere compliment

24. Building a sandcastle

25. Going on a picnic

26. A tropical breeze

27. Playing in the rain and jumping in puddles

28. Pillow fights

29. Peppermint patties

30. A good book

31. Walking barefoot in the grass

32. Kissing in the rain

33. An uncluttered room

34. Waking to a clean house

35. Taking an afternoon nap

36. Laying back and watching the stars

37. The mountains

38. Jr. mints

39. Watching animals in nature

40. A fresh snow

41. A clear desk

42. Swinging on a swing

43. PB&J sandwiches

44. Watching the ocean

45. The first drink from a can of Diet Coke

46. Pretty flowers

47. Watching my kids on Christmas morning

48. Basking in the sun… 

49. Pine-cones

50. Snuggling under the covers on a stormy day

51. A nature hike

52. Listening to good music in the car

53. Taking a long, relaxing shower

54. Acorns

55. Disneyland

56. Being inspired to be better

57. The color red

58. Dogs

59. My kids’ smiles

60. Exercise

I‘m pretty certain I can come up with a thousand more, but you get the idea. This little “exercise” has definitely brightened my day! To quote The Office, “There is a lot of beauty in ordinary things.”

 

Leave a Reply

