Perfection Is Overrated

images

I have this idea in my head of how things are supposed to be… How I am supposed to be. I have come to the conclusion that my ideas may not be realistic. I am always striving for perfection in my life, striving for that “perfect” body, for those “perfect” eating habits, the “perfect” life as a single, working Mom who went back to school… I am falling FAR short of “perfection.”

A few years ago when I was competing, I had what I (NOW) consider to be that “perfect body.” In order to get to that point I had to be spot on with my nutrition and training, in other words… PERFECT! Even though life was hard back then, I was able to pull it all off. Life is still hard… yes, it’s a different hard, but still… why can’t I seem to get my shit together and pull off what in my mind is perfection?? OR… Is perfection this elusive thing we try so hard to achieve, but ultimately are unable to get there, or stay there rather, making us feel unfulfilled? I mean, really, the fact of the matter is, I was at my best, but now… well, I am human and imperfect.  I am realizing that trying to be perfect robs you of your growth, success, and joy… at least it has for me.

“Perfectionism is a 20-ton shield that we lug around thinking it will protect us when, in fact, it’s the thing that’s really preventing us from being seen and taking flight.” –Brene Brown.

I am not saying that we shouldn’t try to be better, we definitely should! There is always room for improvement! But as humans, I think we tend to put too much pressure on ourselves and when we fall short of what we think should happen we are disappointed. We are our own worst critics, after all. Sad. We give others leeway in mistakes and shortcomings, why not ourselves?

“Understanding the difference between healthy striving and perfectionism is critical to laying down the shield and picking up your life. Research shows that perfectionism hampers success. In fact, it’s often the path to depression, anxiety, addiction, and life paralysis.” -Brene Brown.

We need to let go of who we think we are supposed to be and embrace who we really are!  Imperfections and all.  “Our imperfections are what connect us to each other and to our humanity. Our vulnerabilities are not weaknesses, they are powerful reminders to keep our hearts and minds open to the reality that we’re all in this together.” -Brene Brown

Remember…

chalkboard-black-enough

Leave a Reply

