Truth…

Food-is-most-abused-e1433219668223Bill Phillips was spot on when he made that statement several years ago. More than half of American adults today are overweight or outright obese.  I get that people use food as a drug. It makes you feel good. It numbs whatever “it” is. It is a sense of control, in a crazy out of control way, if you know what I mean. I have struggled with using food to “medicate” feelings and emotions, but I ALWAYS notice a difference in how I feel, not only physically, but mentally as well, when I am eating right.

I can also relate to exercise being an antidepressant. When I went through my divorce, I made sure I exercised daily. Even though I felt like crap, I knew it was good for me. I knew mentally I needed that escape, that stress release.  More importantly, my kids benefitted from it. I am pretty sure exercise was the ONLY thing that kept me sane … Ok, exercise and… Pinterest.

I honestly think that if people would just take a few minutes every day and get their bodies moving, even if it is just for 15 minutes, it WILL make a difference. Make the time… just walking out the door is the hardest part. You’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

